Race Relations

We resource Christian Reformed members and congregations as you dismantle the causes and effects of racism within the body of believers and throughout the world.
We help you to live as God’s diverse and unified family.

“To be in Christ is to be reconciled with one another as a community of racially and ethnically diverse people of God.”
(God’s Diverse and Unified Family, CRC Synod 1992)

U.S. Resource: Racism: Looking Back, Moving Forward

This workshop takes participants through the foundations of racism and whiteness by putting together a timeline that includes laws and acts designed to oppress certain groups of people. Although this workshop is not about how to dismantle racism, it will provide enough information about the history of racism to help participants begin or continue their journey towards dismantling racism.

Learn More

Canadian Resource: KAIROS Blanket Exercise

The KAIROS Blanket Exercise literally walks participants through the history of relationships between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in Canada. Much of the content is written by Aboriginal people. It helps participants understand why reconciliation is needed and how to take steps toward reconciliation and new relationships.

Learn More

Our Team

We are ready to help your congregation to live more fully into God’s call for the Church!

Contact a staff member from the list below, or email race@crcna.org and we’ll direct it to the correct team member.


Reggie Smith

Director
rsmith@crcna.org

Idella Winfield

Administrative Specialist
iwinfield@crcna.org

Bernadette Arthur

Canadian Advocate
barthur@crcna.org

Rudy Gonzalez

Advocate
rgonzalez@crcna.org

Viviana Cornejo

Advocate
vcornejo@crcna.org

Danielle Steenwyk-Rowaan

Communications Coordinator
drowaan@crcna.org