Skip to main content

Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations Committee

The Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations Committee (EIRC) is appointed by the synod of the Christian Reformed Church (CRC) to engage and participate in the life of the global church, particularly interacting with churches and ecumenical organizations that share the heritage of the Reformed understanding of the Christian faith, and offering advice on matters of interfaith dialogue.

EIRC has drawn together resources that provide a Reformed perspective on the biblical teaching and theological conclusions regarding interchurch relationships and interfaith dialogue. It is the hope and prayer of EIRC that the churches and members of the denomination will enthusiastically embrace these types of relationships and dialogue.

Questions or comments may be addressed to:
Colin P. Watson Sr. (Executive Director of the CRC)
Terry Veldboom (Interim Canadian Ministries Director)

Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations Committee Members

Dr. Lyle Bierma (Grand Rapids, Mich)
Rev. Joy Engelsman (Denver, CO)
Rev. InSoon Hoagland (Easton, Kan)
Rev. Ruth Hofman (Toronto, Ont)
Mr. Jim Joosse (Edmonton, Alta)
Dr. William Koopmans (St. George, Ont - chairperson)
Ms. Lenore Maine (Hackensack, NJ)
Ms. Ruth Palma (Tujunga, Calf)
Ms. Yvonne Schenk (Thunder Bay, Ont)
Dr. Michael Wagenman (London, Ont)

Under their Synodical mandate, the EIRC appoints a special subcommittee to focus on interfaith matters. The subcommittee members are the following:

Bernard Ayoola
Zack DeBruyne
Michael Kooy
Sarah Gibes
Greg Sinclair (chairperson)
Eric Verhulst
Mark Wallace
Cory Willson